Skip to content

Okra

April 8, 2010

To begin, a collage.

Onion and Garlic:

IMGP2596

Beef:

IMGP2600

Tomatoes:

IMGP2604

Simmer with the toms for about 30 mins.  Up to now, it’s been pretty standard really:

16-dr evil

Now here’s where it gets interesting.  You head into your back yard, and pick some okra:

IMGP2611-1

And you slice it up:

IMGP2613

Bung it in, and cook for another 10 minutes.  Serve with something – rice was in the original recipe here, but my plate looked a bit Italian (what with all those tomatoes!), and I was watching Italian Food Safari on SBS, so I decided to have it with bread instead.

It was yum.  To go with, I drank a few glasses of Henschke 2008 ‘Cranes’ Eden Valley Chardonnay.  It too was yum.

Note:  Having okra growing in your backyard is optional, but very easy so I highly recommend it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 4:20 pm

    Hi Dave!
    It’s great to see a brissy blog with gardening and veg – they go hand in hand. I’m overhauling my vegie patch at the moment… I see you’ve got snow peas growing – i tried that once and it failed miserably! I’d love to try again, any tips?

    Just letting you know that there’s a new facebook group called “Brisbane Food Bloggers”. It’s a great way to find out what’s happening around Brisbane, and we all get together every couple of months and talk shop. The food is often fantastic!
    http://iatebrisbane.com/2009/11/bar-barossa-and-the-bloggers-of-brisbane/
    http://iatebrisbane.com/2010/02/yes-grasshopper/

    Cheers!
    Sarah

  2. April 15, 2010 4:24 pm

    I mean Gardening and Cooking… not veg! Ugh!

    😀

    • April 15, 2010 8:35 pm

      Hey Sarah,

      Thanks for dropping by. Dunno about snow peas – I did alright last time, but I wasn’t paying a lot of attention. This time I’ve got them in a sunny spot with plenty of wire for them to climb up. I’ll let you know how they go.

  3. April 23, 2010 9:33 am

    Great to see a gardening blog! seems like u are having more luck with growing than I have been!

    • April 23, 2010 12:09 pm

      Through no fault of my own – I think I’ve been quite lucky. Very few pests to eat things before I get to…

      D

Trackbacks

  1. More on okra « Don't do what Dave does

Leave a Reply

