Skip to content

Steak and Chips

August 18, 2010

Shit hey, it’s been a while.  More has happened to me in the last 3 months than the 26 years leading up to it, so the blog has slipped down to about last on my priorities.  I figure an easy post is probably a good way to ease back into the routine, so here goes…

I was left to my own devices this evening, so I decided to treat myself for dinner.  We roasted a duck last week, and have a nice amount of duck fat left over, so I figured some chippies were in order.

It’s pretty simple really.  First, I sliced and parboiled the potatoes.  15 mins later, I took these out of the steamer, and then slowly fried these in a pan with the duck fat until crispy…

Before:

IMG_0377

During:

IMG_0387

And after:

IMG_0389

Digging out some eye fillet from the freezer, my method was thus:

  • Season steaks both sides with salt, pepper and rosemary (taking notes I hope, Cha Cha Char)
  • Put the heaviest pan I have on the highest heat I can for about 10 mins (until it’s smoking)
  • Throw the steaks on with a tiny amount of oil for about 2 mins each side
  • eat.

Steaks before:

IMG_0381

And the finished result, served with salad (and beer):

IMG_0390

The chips didn’t turn out as crispy as I might have wished, but they were still damn tasty.  So tasty that I have to confess I actually cooked about double the amount shown on the plate, they just didn’t make it that far…  To make them crispier, next time I might try turning up the heat on the oil.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alison permalink
    August 19, 2010 1:30 am

    Hey Dave,

    Good to see you writing again! Thought I’d give some advice about the potatoes… The problem with boiling them first is that they are so full of water already that they can’t absorb the fat when you fry them up. It’s the same when you make gnocchi, water is a bad thing if you want them soft like clouds rather than gluggy like glue.
    Two solutions. 1. Prick them all over with a fork, wrap them in paper towel and microwave them for around 5-10min before frying. That steams them nicely in their own water.
    Or 2. Prick them all over with a fork and bake them on 180C for half an hour first.
    In both these instances it is important to keep the skin on. That way when you slice them up they are semi-fluffy inside and will absorb the duck fat like little sponges.
    Dammit! Now I want duck fat potatoes! Yum!

    Alison. Say hi to Jill from me 🙂

    • August 19, 2010 8:34 am

      Thanks for the tips. I did actually steam them instead of boiling, but I take your point that they were too moist. Next time I have a tray of duck fat lying around I’ll try it and let you know!

  2. Lucy permalink
    August 19, 2010 7:41 pm

    I was having similiar thoughts regarding the potatoes and water. What I’ve found is that you par-cook them (either microwave or boil) and then put them on paper towel in the fridge. This dries them out nicely so that they can get crispy in the oil. Twice deep frying is even better!

Leave a Reply

